Just as the sun removes darkness, loves removes ego.
— Swami Satyananda Saraswati
I would like my life to be a statement of love and compassion—and where it isn’t, that’s where my work lies.
— Ram Dass


Sanskrit — Anahata, “unstruck sound”

Location – behind the heart

Element – Air

Karmendriya (action organ) – hands

Jnanendriya (sensory organ) – skin

Tanmatra (sense) – touch

Yantra – six pointed blue star

Mantra – yam pronounced “yum”

God/Goddess – Isha/Kali

Lotus – twelve petalled blue lotus

Associations – compassion, generosity, strong will, freedom from karmas, recognition of the universal, unconditional love, ability to heal others, intense concentration of the mind, control of prana, acceptance of duality/polarity, heartfelt communication, non-attachment

Blockages – compassionate acts with selfish intent, intolerance, divisiveness, hatred, ignorance


Intro to Anahata

While the first three chakras still relate to earthly desires and their fulfillment, awakening of anahata signifies a freedom from the earthly realm/karma and a power over one’s destiny. As my teacher says, at anahata we “turn the passions into compassion”. Anahata chakra is where we develop devotion towards a greater purpose.

According to the tantras, there is a wish fulfilling tree in anahata chakra. Having your wishes granted is not a power to be taken lightly. Every thought is a wish your mind makes to bring you peace and liberation or bring you suffering. To awaken anahata, one must realize that the mind can be your best friend or your worst enemy. The first step in preparing to awaken anahata is to recognize you have a choice in how to work with your mind. Anahata relates to the manomaya kosha (mental body), controlling the mind and emotions. All of your thoughts can be seen as a reflected of how much love you are experiencing at any given moment.

The yantra, geometric shape, of anahata is two interlocking triangles, represents the union of Shiva and Shakti. The downward triangle represents Shakti, creative power. The upward triangle represents Shiva, consciousness. In awakening Anahata, we transcend the pleasures of the dualistic mind and perform actions for the benefit of all beings.

Kali is the goddess associated with anahata chakra. While she is a fierce deity, the essence of Kali is unconditional love. How can you awaken your heart this week? Where have you been withholding love? Kali is a strong transmuter, she cuts through our illusions, our ego, and our systems that keep us small. She reminds us us that love isn’t always rainbows and butterflies, it can be fierce and direct as well. When strong emotions arise this week, take note — is your heart being asked to shift in some way?



This immersion is intended to be done for at least 5 days or in-depth up to 30 days. Do the video practice, followed by the guided meditation, then choose one of the Free Writes below. The mantra meditation can be done seated or lying down at any time.

I. Video practice
Metta, Loving Kindness meditation for oneself, another, and all of humanity

II. Anahata Meditation

Connect with and explore the heart chakra and it’s properties.

III. Kali Mantra

Evokes fierceness, devotion, and unconditional love. You can repeat the mantra aloud or internally.

Mantra “Om klim kalikayei namaha”

Om kl-eem kuh-lee-kuh-yeh Nuh-muh-ha

i bow to the spirit of unconditional love


Free Writes

Set a timer for 10 minutes. Try to write continuously without stopping, editing, or analyzing.

1. Write about someone you would like to forgive. Start with “I forgive you for…”

2. Write about an experience that awakened your heart. It doesn’t have to be pleasant, perhaps it was heartbreak. What did you learn?

3. What pushes your buttons? What wound lies underneath that button (insecurity, shame, grief, etc.) and where does it come from? What is being protected?

4. What do you love about yourself and why? What could you love more about yourself and how?

5. What does Unconditional Love mean to you in this moment?